Weather data OK.
Deer Park
46 °F
Weather details

The Deer Park Community

Hall of Honor inducts 4 new members

Written by Staff. Posted in Community


The Deer Park Chamber of Commerce recently inducted the four newest members to the Felton F. Waggoner Hall of Honor. Wade Conner (1983), Leland Robin Enochs (1967), Danika Hayman (2001) and Lou Adele May (1956), all graduates of Deer Park High School were inducted for their contributions to their communities and professions.

HOH2017(From left) Lou Adele Dorrell-May, Leland Robin Enochs, Wade Conner and Danika Hayman were inducted into the Felton F. Waggoner Hall of Honor. The recognition is bestowed to graduates of Deer Park High School who have made significant contributions to their communities and/or their professions. Photo provided by the Deer Park Chamber of Commerce.

Another class of four outstanding individuals were officially inducted into the Felton F. Waggoner Hall of Honor. The ceremony held at Deer Park High School recognized inductees Wade Conner of the class of 1983, Leland Robin Enochs of the class of 1967, Danika Hayman of the class of 2001 and Lou Adele May of the class of 1956.

The Felton F. Waggoner Hall of Honor was started in 1996 and carries the name of an outstanding and well-respected Deer Park High School principal who served from 1950 to 1973. The idea for the Hall of Honor was a long-time dream of Dr. Ray Landers, former deputy superintendent of instruction at Deer Park ISD.

Hall of Honor nominees must have graduated from Deer Park High School and are recognized as having made outstanding contributions to their community and profession. Nominations are submitted by the community and are screened by a subcommittee before the finalists are selected by 19 individuals making up the Hall of Honor Board, chaired by Ronda Kouba.

Each year four DPHS graduates are added to the Hall of Honor and an induction ceremony is held in their honor. Those inducted into the Hall of Honor have their portraits coupled with a brief synopsis of their achievements etched in granite within the display in the mall area of the South Campus.

For his dedicated duty to the Deer Park Police Department and a range of other organizations, DPPD Captain Wade Conner was inducted. Wade strives to selflessly serve others through coaching, fundraising, volunteering his time by serving on various committees and more. He has been named Officer of the Month six times, American Legion Officer of the Year in 1996 and 2003, and City of Deer Park’s Supervisor of the Month in 2003, 2004 and 2007.

Leland Enochs, better known as Robin during his high school days, was licensed and admitted to the State Bar of Texas in 1976. His law firm focuses on estate planning, probate, elder law and real estate. His friends attest Leland has been a “difference-maker,” although Enochs remains modest in his accomplishments. He has been an active member and past president of the Taylor Rotary Club and became a Paul Harris Fellow of the Rotary Foundation. He has been a visionary leader and deacon at his church and today continues to provide his expertise and counsel in a most unselfish manner.

After graduating high school, Danika Hayman went on to study at Rice University, and has gone on to become a world expert in biodegradable medical devices. She works for an internationally-renowned consulting firm in Boston where she enjoys solving complex engineering problems and performs research to improve the world’s understanding of how degradable materials respond to a range of environments, including inside the body. Hayman has paved the way for scientists to understand the impact of biodegradable stents, enabling them to be developed more compatibly with the human body. In addition to her engineering work she takes pride in mentoring young scientists, and is most proud of the work she has done to develop their careers.

Lou Adele Dorrell-May considers herself a professional volunteer. After graduating from the University of Texas with highest honors she taught first and third grades throughout the 1960s. At that time, she became committed to the bulk of her community service work planning, executing and giving back to countless organizations near her Beeville home. Her works spans serving and chairing the Beeville ISD School Board, Coastal Bend College Foundation Board, Beeville-Bee County Economic Redevelopment Authority, Women’s Shelter Board, Bee County Library Board and the Bee/Live Oak Country Mental Health Advisory Board, to name a few. Her work and dedication to helping others has affected all of South Texas.